Yorkshire Ladies miss out on title in the final

Yorkshire ladies hopes of regaining the title, last won in 2015, were dealt a blow by the loss of No 1 Fiona Moverley who was called up to play for England-her first cap in the European Team Championships in Helsinki.

So with a team of Lauren Siddall, Katie Smith, Hannah Shipley and Julie Field, all Pontefract and newcomer Lauren Gray from York, the ladies faced Nottinghamshire in their first Monrad match.

The ladies had a comfortable 5-0 win with the following results.

Lauren Siddall v Shioban Robertson 11/4 11/5 11/1

Katie v Catherine Rose 11/2 11/4 11/8

Hannah v Lauren West 8/11 11/4 7/11 11/1 11/7

Lauren Gray v Susan Pynoger 11/6 11/2 11/2

Julie Field v Megan Harlow 11/5 11/5 11/8

The second match against Surrey was expected to be tougher. Julie had a comfortable win v Caroline Lucas 11/4 11/3 11/1 as did Lauren Gray v Katie Wilson 11/6 6/11 11/6 11/6. Hannah lost to Emmeline Gale 11/9 6/11 8/11 5/11.

Lauren Siddall at 1st string was fourth on court and this exciting match proved to be the most challenging and longest match of the day, Lauren finishing with a 3-2 win of 7/11 11/9 11/9 9/11 11/4 against Alison Thomson.

Having secured an overall win of 3-1 and this left Katie with a dead rubber at 2nd string against the experienced Shayne Baillie. An exceptional display by Katie, with a result of 11/4 11/2 moved the ladies to the final the following day at Sportscity.

The ladies finally went on court at 3pm. Lauren Siddall played Sarah Campion on the all glass court, losing 5/11 3/11 8/11. Lauren Gray had a comprehensive win over the Cheshire captain, Kirsty West with a score of 11/9 11/8 11/8

Hannah lost to Olivia Howell 5/11 6/11 9/11 and Julie Field defied her years, with the longest match of the day-just losing out to youngster Hayley Openshaw. Blower 8/11 11/9 8/11 13/11 5/11 Katie faced Rachel Chadwick in the final tie, another exciting close match reflected in the score of 7/11 12/10 12/14 6/11

The final result was 4-1 to Cheshire who retain the title from last year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *